Skip to main content

SCHOOL OF FOREST, FISHERIES, & GEOMATICS SCIENCES

SCHOOL OF FOREST, FISHERIES, & GEOMATICS SCIENCES

Extension

Extension programs are coordinated by faculty and staff with active Extension programs in ecotourism; fisheries and aquatic sciences; forest stewardship; forest health; urban forestry; wildland-urban interface; and youth education.

Our aim is to expand current programs to emphasize non-traditional uses of forests; ecological functions of forests and water resources; wildland-urban interface issues; and integration of our forest and aquatic Extension programs. Much of this is achieved with resources generated through creative partnering and grants.

Extension Programs

Extension Contacts

  • Fisheries and Aquatic Resources

    Freshwater, Coastal, Marine, and Aquaculture

    Name Expertise Email Phone Location
    Shirley Baker  Marine Ecology; Shellfish Aquaculture  Sbaker25@ufl.edu  (352) 273-3627  Millhopper
    faculty 
    Anna Braswell  Coastal Watersheds and Ecosystems  a.braswell@ufl.edu  n/a  Millhopper
    faculty 
    Jason Bennett   jbennett@clas.ufl.edu    
    Ed Camp  Fisheries & Aquaculture Management, Policy, Stock Enhancement, Artificial Reefs  edvcamp@ufl.edu  (401) 862-7702  Millhopper
    faculty 
    Eric Cassiano  Aquaculture; Fish Reproduction; Bivalve Culture; Hatchery Mngmt; Classroom Ed; Larval nutrition; Aquatic Plant Control  ericcass@ufl.edu  (813) 671-5230 x109  TAL-Ruskin
    faculty 
    Angela Collins   abcollins@ufl.edu    
    Matt DiMaggio  Ornamental aquaculture; baitfish  mdimaggi@ufl.edu  (813) 671-5230 x115  TAL-Ruskin
    faculty 
    Elizabeth Duermit Moreau   duermite@ufl.edu    
    Ruth Francis-Floyd   rffloyd@ufl.edu     
    Bethan Gillett   bgillett@ufl.edu    
    Joy Hazell   jhazell@ufl.edu    
    Jeff Hill  Non-Native Aquatic Species; Invasive Species; Fish Identification; Aquaculture  jeffhill@ufl.edu  (813) 671-5230 x118  TAL-Ruskin
    faculty 
    Leo Ibarra-Castro   l.ibarracastro@whitney.ufl.edu   Whitney Lab
    Gretchen Lescord   lescord.g@ufl.edu    
    Cortney Ohs  Aquaculture & Nutrition; Fish and Crustacean Production; Classroom Education  cohs@ufl.edu  (772) 468-3922  IRREC-Ft. Pierce faculty 
    Josh Patterson  Restoration aquaculture; citizen science  joshpatterson@ufl.edu  (540) 797-4479  CFC- Apollo Beach 
    Leslie Sturmer  Shellfish Aquaculture  Lnst@ufl.edu  (352) 543-5057  Cedar Key
    faculty 
    Daniel Willis   djwillis@ufl.edu    
    Huiping Yang  Molluscan Shellfish Aquaculture  huipingyang@ufl.edu  (352) 294-0671  Millhopper
    faculty 
    Roy Yanong  Aquatic Animal Health; Fish Health & Disease; Fish Kills; Aquaculture  rpy@ufl.edu  (813) 671-5230 x104  TAL-Ruskin
    faculty 
  • Forests and Ecosystems

    Managed and Natural

    Name Expertise Email Phone Location
    Michael Andreu  Urban Forestry; Fire; Bioenergy; Climate change; Forest Stewardship; Tropical forestry  mandreu@ufl.edu  (352) 846-0355  Gainesville
    Faculty 
    Wendy-Lin Bartels  NRLI, Climate, Farmers, Conflict, Team Science, Stakeholders  wendylin@ufl.edu  (352) 846-1511  Gainesville
    Asst Res Sci 
    Tyler Carney   tcarney96@ufl.edu    
    Tamara Cushing Forest Business Specialist tcushing@ufl.edu  (352) 294-9117  Gainesville Faculty 
    Mysha Clarke   mysha.clarke@ufl.edu    
    Jon Dain NRLI, Facilitation, Conflict  jdain@LATAM.ufl.edu  n/a  Gainesville Lecturer 
    Chris Demers  Forest Stewardship  cdemers@ufl.edu  (352) 846-2375  Gainesville Staff 
    David Godwin  Southern Fire Exchange  drg2814@ufl.edu  (850) 893-4153 x 261  TLH Staff 
    Jiri Hulcr  Forest Entomology; citizen science  hulcr@ufl.edu  (352) 273-0299  Gainesville
    Faculty  
    Basil Iannone  Land development, spatial analysis, invasives, restoration  Biannone@ufl.edu  (352) 294-7499  Gainesville
    Faculty  
    Andrew Johnson   ajj@ufl.edu    
    Patrick Minogue  Forest Management; Herbicides; Woody Biomass  pminogue@ufl.edu  (850) 875-7142  Quincy
    Faculty
    Jocelyn Peskin   jpeskin@ufl.edu    
    Jiangxiao Qiu  Ecosystem services; Sustainable urbanization; Coastal Resilience  qiuj@ufl.edu  (954) 577-6337  Fort Lauderdale Faculty 
    Andrew Sims   adsims@ufl.edu    
    Taylor Stein  Ecotourism; CFEOR; Nature-based Recreation; Park Planning; Off Road Vehicles; Human Dimensions of Natural Resource Management  tstein@ufl.edu  (352) 846-0860  Gainesville Faculty 
    Deb Stone   debitharp@ufl.edu